Carlos Alberto de Oliveira Andrade: Celebrating Decades of Consistent Growth

The automobile industry in Brazil has undergone tremendous changes in the past decades. It was a walk down memory lane during the 52nd edition of the Car of the Year. The year’s event was, however, a bit different as it paid tribute to the founder importer in Brazil, Dr. Carlos Alberto de Oliveira Andrade.

Carlos Alberto de Oliveira Andrade hails as the founding member of the world-renowned car imported in Brazil, CAOA. Dr. Carlos rise began back in the 70s and has transcended into the current era as a pacesetter of car importation.

The firm CAOA was created when Carlos Alberto de Oliveira Andrade purchased the Ford Landau in 1979 in Paraiba. Due to the insolvency of the dealership, Dr. Carlos saw an opportunity and bought the entire resale.

It only took Dr. Carlos six years to form a ground for the largest Ford dealership in the country. The retired surgeon was plowing back profits and this saw him venture in the Renault brand. In a matter of years, he became the official importer of Renault in Brazil.

The starts were lining for Dr. Carlos as he landed another representative deal with Hyundai. This led to the installation of the formidable industrial unit located in Goias. Aside from the overall control of CAOA, the firm falls under the control of the chairman of the Board of Directors.

Another milestone marked by CAOA in the last fiscal year was with the acquisition of China’s Chery. The move saw the firm take over the operations of the plant both in Jacarei and in Sao Paulo.

Before receiving the accolade from the Executive of the Year, Carlos Alberto de Oliveira Andrade was the recipient of the ‘Distributor of the Year’. This followed the setting up of the current Hyundai factory in Brazil. This was a major deal for Dr. Carlos because he had gained a competitive edge over the rest of the 179 Hyundai dealers worldwide.

The consistent rise and innovation of CAOA were among the reasons Carlos Alberto de Oliveira received the award for Executive of the Year. The award was presented during the 201 Car of the Year award which was masterminded by Autoesporte.